NEET-UG is the first step, for Medical students who wish to set their career in MBBS and dental courses. There are various government and private colleges and institutes in India for Medical studies. government or private medical colleges and dental colleges respectively. NEET-UG, is currently conducted by National Testing service. This test help in replacing various tests which were conducted by various Medical institutes in 2013. But some private colleges and institutes had issue in this so they had taken a stay order for conducting private exams for admission to their institutes in MBBS and BDS courses.
A fact comes out that NEET  is the only entrance test which is responsible for admissions to more than 66,000 seats for MBBS and BDS in India. According to the records, In last year NEET exam, around 80% of the candidates choose to wrote the exam in English, 11% in Hindi, 4.31% in Gujarati, 3% in Bengali and 1.86% in Tamil. A recent announcement confirmed that From 2019, the NTA will conduct NEET, earlier it was conducted by CBSE. 

NEET is not eligible in various institutes which were named below as:

Undergraduate courses at

All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi,

Postgraduate at

  1. IMER, Chandigarh also known as Institute of Medical and Research
  2. JIPMER (Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research)

These institutes have some separate laws.
NEET was introduced in 2012, due to many reasons, CBSE and MCI suspended the NEET for one year. For the first time Government of India announced NEET and the first test was held on 5 May 2013 all over India for students willing to take  admission in Undergraduate and Postgraduate courses. But in 2013, after the Supreme court decision which was in favour of colleges and institutes, clearly announced that Medical Counsil of India will not interfere in the process done by institutes.States like Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Gujarat, West Bengal and Tamil Nadu opposed this NEET exam which was announced by MCI, they had objection on a huge change in the syllabus of Medical Council of India and their state syllabi. First in 2016 NEET was directed in two languages English and Hindi, but later they stated  that from 2017 students can write exams in other languages such are Tamil, Telugu, Marathi, Bengali, Assamese and Gujarati languages. Supreme Court of India rejects NEET examination for admissions into various institutes and colleges on 18 July 2013. On top Court announced that the MCI cannot conduct a incorporated examination.
The first phase of the NEET was All India Pre Medical Test which was held in 2016. Students who registered for for this were given a chance to appear for the next phase of NEET held on 24 July 2016, but there was a condition that candidates need to give up their NEET Phase 1 score which was a risk.


The Undergraduate NEET exam is currently under the control of Central Board of Secondary Education but will be conducted by NTS from 2019, and was held for the first time in 2013 with marking in the given ways,
correct answer means four marks, wrong answer lead to one negative marking or one mark deduction.


The Common Entrance Test (CET) exam is for admission to Postgraduate courses in India. For the first time it was introduced in 2012. The All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) conducted a separate medical entrance test for MDS courses in 2013. Dress code regulations in 2017 leads to a controversy was swelled.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.